Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I came accross an Earl Grey Banana Bread recipe by Healthy-Delicious when I was first researching Earl Grey as a flavour and I have been waiting for an opportunty to try it out. To my mind, Banana Bread fits into that wonderful category of luxury that can masquerade as ‘good for you’ at the same time as being an all-out treat. I should think scientists may disagree, but there’s probably enough banana in there to constitute one of your five-a-day right?

This is a stunning example of classic Banana Bread; a decadent level of moist-ness (if you’ll excuse me making up words!) achieved by the addition of the Earl Grey, which actually lends the bread quite a gentle flavour. If you like Earl Grey, you’ll no doubt be able to identify it’s subtle tones but equally, if you are not a fan you will be able to enjoy this unusual loaf without being hindered by the flavour.

In the end I disgarded Healthy Delicious’ recipe for a more simple one from the BBC website, which I then adapted to include the all-important Earl Grey flavouring. I opted to use brewed Earl Grey tea so that you can try this at home, rather than using the Earl Grey Extract that I have developed for use in my delicious Earl Grey Chocolate Brownies. So do give this a go, and let me know how you get on with it! Enjoy!

Ingredients
  • 120ml boiling water
  • 5 Earl Grey Tea bags
  • 300g plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 110g butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 2 free-range eggs, beaten
  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 75ml buttermilk (or normal milk mixed with 1½ tsp lemon juice or vinegar)
Method
      1. Pre-heat the oven to Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas Mark 4 and grease the baking tin (I used a cake tin as I did not have a big enough but the BBC recomend a 20cm x 12.5cm/8in x 5in loaf tin)
      2. Brew the earl grey tea using the boiling water and 5 tea bags for 5 minutes; strain and disgard the bags
      3. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy
      4. Mix in the eggs, mashed banana, buttermilk and tea until completely combined
      5. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt
      6. Fold the flour mixture in, being careful not to overwork
      7. Pour the mixture into the pre-greased tin and bake for an hour until a skewer inserted comes out clean (it should be lightly golden-brown on top)
      8. Cool for 5 minutes in the pan before turning out

I recommend serving this whilst it is still warm – you can’t beat fresh still-warm bread! It doesn’t need any butter as it is so deliciously moist.

I hope you enjoy this recipe; watch this space for more Earl Grey recipes, including my next project, a hugely decadent Earl Grey Chocolate Cake! xx

