Tags

, , , ,

In celebration of Shrove Tuesday (popularly known, of course, as Pancake Day), I decided to bring a rose element to the pancake situation, thus raising the obvious question: How do you add rose to a pancake? I thought about actual rose flavoured pancakes… I don’t know, but I just think the mixture is too stodgy in consistency for such a delicate flavour. I thought about rose petals and sugar as a topping, but I don’t think it’d look particularly appetising. Finally, after much deliberation, I came up with the winning recipe; rose syrup. The recipe is so simple and very versatile. I used mine on pancakes with strawberries and chocolate and it was gorgeous, but it’d be delicious on vanilla ice cream with berries and chocolate chips, or with stewed apple, or any number of other dishes. Here’s how you do it:

Ingredients
  • 120ml Rose Water (see the Rose & Cardamom Tart post for how to make rose water)
  • 120ml Water
  • 400g granulated sugar

In a saucepan, combine all the ingredients and bring to boil, stirring constantly until the sugar is fully dissolved. Boil for approximately 10 minutes, or until the liquid is ‘syrupy’ but slightly less thick than you want it to be eventually; it will thicken as it cools. It’s not an exact science, but as long as its not too runny and you can pour it, it’s good to go. I hope you’re not too pancake-d out to enjoy it! x

